Oh, For the Love of Reading

Contributed by Rhonda Jenkins, elementary librarian

Meet Asha, one fierce 5th grade reader.

asha

Last year she was one of my top readers. In fact, she read 314 books during her 4th grade year. So far this year, she’s read 87! Ahsa can check out five books on a Friday and return them all read on Monday. Not only that, she remembers details from each book that would boggle your mind!

When asked, “Why do you read?” Asha responded:

Ms. Jenkins, you asked me, “Why do I read?” I read because it brings me comfort. I love the feeling of when I find a good book.

When I read, it distracts me from what is going on in the world. When I read, sometimes it is like time stops. And I like the feeling when you get to that one moment in the book where everything in the story makes sense, and I just don’t want to put the book down.

Also I love all of the information that a book can give you even if it is a fictional book. There are so many books that I enjoy  reading. I like the Maximum Ride books,and the I.Q series. With those books I felt like I had to read and finish each book!

So I will say that I mostly read just for the fun it and not because I have to for school. I do it for the enjoyment!

Asha D., 5th Grader

Future Ready Librarians – Continue building relationships with kids, telling their stories, and celebrating their accomplishments alongside them!

One thought on “Oh, For the Love of Reading

Leave a Reply

